Advice on possible upgrade to TNT-HRX please

Advice on possible upgrade to TNT-HRX please

Postby Arsh » Sun Dec 02, 2018 10:23 pm

Harry, you and I have corresponded a bit about this (thank you!), but I thought I would post this here so you and others could comment further and so those with similar questions might benefit from the discussion.

Please forgive the length of this post; I hope you bear with me and read through.

I have a Scoutmaster that was my late father’s turntable. I have made numerous modifications and upgrades to it (please see below) and use it in my main system. I now have the opportunity to purchase a VPI TNT-HRX (with standard 12” arm) from an acquaintance. I had been considering saving up for the Direct Drive or other “uber table.” If I get another table, the Scoutmaster would move to my secondary rig, which still is quite good and gets a decent amount of use. I am quite attached to it for obvious reasons.

I do love the the sound of my modified Scoutmaster, and it’s addictive—a joy to use. I have to force myself to stop listening in the evenings so I can get some sleep!

Here are the modifications I’ve made:

1) 2” thick Terrastone platform from EdenSound for table

2. Separate Terrastone platform for motor

3. Large Terracone footers for turntable

4. Brass damping weights for chassis and motor

5. Upgraded capacitor for motor

6. ADS and SDS motor controllers

7. Stillpoints LPI record weight

8. VPI periphery ring clamp

9. 2 custom metal VPI 9” tonearms (“Classic type”) and one 9” 3D arm in addition to stock JMW9 arm, all with different cartridges (Proteus, Paua, Purpleheart, Zephyr Mk II)

10. Transparent Reference MM2 phono cables

11. Herron VTPH2A and Musical Fidelity NuVista Vinyl phono stages.

So, after doing some reading and research, it seems that the options are:

1) do nothing now and save my money for a Direct drive or avenger