Lubrication opinion

Lubrication opinion

Postby Mr_Putty » Mon Oct 30, 2017 2:41 pm

Has anyone used Nano-Oil for anything on a turntable? What about Amsoil?

Has VPI or anyone tested lubing main bearings with nano oil? This is a high tech product that uses nano sized diamonds to reduce friction.
I have no experience with it, but it is getting good reviews. Here’s a link to Amazon product:

https://www.amazon.com/Nano-Oil-NanoLub ... C9RGA4#Ask

I am really curious about this as I have a new Prime (not yet in use) and this product has been on my mind for a year or so.

Thanks
Mr_Putty

Re: Lubrication opinion

Postby WntrMute » Mon Oct 30, 2017 3:13 pm

Let's see if there is some additive that would accelerate wear in a oil or grease? Graphite? Too soft, teflon? Nope, too soft again. Sand? Ooo, that would really grind into tool steel. But wait, is there an even harder material than quartz? Yup, you guessed it-diamonds. Doesn't seem to have benifical qualities. Molybdenum might be a good addition but diamonds seem to be the worst choice.
WntrMute

Postby DeeCee » Mon Oct 30, 2017 3:22 pm

Not sure if I would use this.

I recall a friend of mine (long ago) suggesting the use of industrial grade diamond dust as a kind of a revenge counter-prank rather than sugar in a car gas tank. It works its way throughout the car and permanently ruins it. Not sure if dude *really* used this in the past.

Hmmmmm...
VPI Scout 2/JMW-9/Benz Micro Wood SL/Graham Slee 3 & PSU1/Sony DVP-S7000/Schiit Audio Bifrost Uber/Sonic Euphoria PLC/Aragon 4004 Mk II/Aerial Acoustics Model 7
DeeCee

Postby Brf » Mon Oct 30, 2017 4:04 pm

I know nothing about Nano-Oil, but I use Amsoil oil for my 997 C4s car and I have used it as an oil bath well bearing oil. Excellent oil.
Brf
Site Admin

Postby Mr_Putty » Mon Oct 30, 2017 5:16 pm

Guys,