Spend entire budget on MM or split between MC and Phonostage

Spend entire budget on MM or split between MC and Phonostage

Postby mdp0430 » Wed Oct 31, 2018 7:49 am

I'm looking to get into vinyl and have a budget of $6,000. Being in NJ, VPI and Soundsmith seemed like good local options but not many are available to audition. I was thinking of either pairing a VPI Prime with a Soundsmith Aida cartridge direct into my Plinius integrated. Or, possibly, sticking with the Prime and going with a $1,000 MC cartridge and also an $1,000 dedicated phono stage.

Does anyone happen to have any opinions that they would be able to share? Should I be considering something else? My gut tells me that simpler is better and to go with the Prime/Aida combination and in a year or two maybe upgrade to a dedicated MM phono stage. But I would really like to hear your thoughts as I would hate to make a $6,000 mistake! I'm a total novice when it comes to vinyl.

I tend to go for natural/lifelike sound - which is something that my digital front end is ok at, but not great (Cary CD Player). While I have nearly 3,000 CD's, I have amassed a small collection of some of my favorites on vinyl - including some from Analogue Productions and MoFi. My music taste ranges from Elvis/Fab4/Stones/Fleetwood Mac/Neil Young to 80's Talking Heads/Police/Pixies. I can go from hard rock like Kiss and Metallica, but also enjoy jazz greats such as Coltrane and Miles as well as the Guaraldi Charlie Brown which I just acquired on 200g. So, that's where I'm coming from in terms of music style. Oh, I also don't mind cranking the stereo at times... Same thing with my guitar amps.
mdp0430

Re: Spend entire budget on MM or split between MC and Phonos

Postby 10ovr » Wed Oct 31, 2018 9:14 am