VPI 300 RPM motor upgrade for VPI Classic 1 (30th)

VPI 300 RPM motor upgrade for VPI Classic 1 (30th)

Postby KOWHeigel » Wed Jun 05, 2019 9:52 am

Hey everyone,

I've been considering upgrading to the 300 rpm motor for my classic. I know that some don't think it's an upgrade (and some do) but I'm interested all the same. I have read on the forums that some versions of the classic cannot easily be upgraded. I have an order version with the motor in the let front. I know how the switch the motor as I've done it with the 600 rpm version. If anyone could confirm that I can do this upgrade on my table I would greatly appreciate it.


Photo-2019-06-04-18-09-34_2370.JPG
Photo-2019-06-04-18-09-34_2370.JPG (1.71 MiB) Viewed 1024 times

Photo-2019-06-04-18-09-45_2371.JPG
Photo-2019-06-04-18-09-45_2371.JPG (2.32 MiB) Viewed 1024 times
KOWHeigel
Jr. Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:06 pm

Re: VPI 300 RPM motor upgrade for VPI Classic 1 (30th)

Postby madrac » Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:38 am

I was considering same for my classic 1... motor left rear.
I contacted VPI, sent requested info (eg pics) and said it wasn’t a do-it-yoursrelf project with my specific table.
Suggest you may want to ask Jose (Hoss) at VPI to confirm
madrac
Senior Member
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 9:36 am

Re: VPI 300 RPM motor upgrade for VPI Classic 1 (30th)

Postby Brf » Wed Jun 05, 2019 11:37 am

The first thing to consider is do you have enough room to accommodate a pulley twice the size as your current i.e. 1.35" diameter?
User avatar
Brf
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4210
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:23 am

Re: VPI 300 RPM motor upgrade for VPI Classic 1 (30th)

Postby spinblackcircle » Wed Jun 05, 2019 11:45 am

I did it on my front mounted motor 30th Anv Classic. IMHO, unless you NEED a new motor, I would leave it be.

EDIT: Just looked at my original post, there is a metal heat sink under the motor that had to be removed. It's glued in so be careful removing, it might take some wood with it.

Also take some pictures of the wiring.
VPI Prime/Grado Reference Master, VPI 16.5 RCM, Audio Research LP1, Audio Research VSI60, Ryan Speakers R630, ClearDay and Audio Sensibility Cables
User avatar
spinblackcircle
Senior Member
 
Posts: 659
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 3:09 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Re: VPI 300 RPM motor upgrade for VPI Classic 1 (30th)

Postby KOWHeigel » Wed Jun 05, 2019 3:47 pm

if we are talking about the same thing, my metal heatsink is / was just taped onto bottom of motor and is not affixed to the table itself in anyway. It can be switched to any other motor quite easily.

I'm thinking the biggest issue for me is pulley space but I would venture to guess that if this works for any classic it must work for mine as the belt sizes are the same for all classics.
KOWHeigel
Jr. Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 4:06 pm

Re: VPI 300 RPM motor upgrade for VPI Classic 1 (30th)

Postby tony22 » Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:10 pm

I had an HRX pulley on my front motor Classic 3. Plenty of space.

image2_jpeg.jpg
image2_jpeg.jpg (95.08 KiB) Viewed 976 times
Pass XP-20 & XP-17, AVA 600R, Shahinian speakers, PS Audio DMP & DS, Avenger w/mods, 12" Fatboy gimbal + 2nd mount, Benz LPS, VAS & SS carts, Ortofon Quintet Mono, Logitech Touch, Audience and PSA conditioning, PAD and AZ cables.
User avatar
tony22
Senior Member
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 4:38 pm

Re: VPI 300 RPM motor upgrade for VPI Classic 1 (30th)

Postby Brf » Thu Jun 06, 2019 7:33 am

tony22 wrote:I had an HRX pulley on my front motor Classic 3. Plenty of space.


As a FYI, the Classic 3 was produced with a 300 rpm motor unlike the regular Classic that utilized the 600 rpm motor.
User avatar
Brf
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4210
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:23 am

Re: VPI 300 RPM motor upgrade for VPI Classic 1 (30th)

Postby tony22 » Thu Jun 06, 2019 9:50 am

Ah, yes I forgot about that. HW put the 300 RPM motor in mine when he built it.
Pass XP-20 & XP-17, AVA 600R, Shahinian speakers, PS Audio DMP & DS, Avenger w/mods, 12" Fatboy gimbal + 2nd mount, Benz LPS, VAS & SS carts, Ortofon Quintet Mono, Logitech Touch, Audience and PSA conditioning, PAD and AZ cables.
User avatar
tony22
Senior Member
 
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 4:38 pm


Return to Support Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

x