Battle against the static pop

Battle against the static pop

Postby Wxm » Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:09 pm

I am still new to the Scout 2 with aluminum platter, and have been battling with the loud static pops through the speakers when I touch the arm at end of each playing. The player otherwise works perfect, it sounds really nice. No humming during the playing. Does anyone has other suggestions?

My current configuration is: Scout (re-bodied Denon 103R) -> ARC PH3 -> ARC SP-11 (I have another table on the phono of SP11, hence PH3). I tried adding and removing a Falcon PSU to the power supply of the Scout. None seems to make any difference. The Scout junction box ground is connect to PH3 ground. All plugged in to an Forman PH-PRO II power condition.
Wxm

Re: Battle against the static pop

Postby elader » Wed Jan 03, 2018 9:30 am

try grounding the platter bearing (from under the table) to the junction box ground. That may help.

Also, in the winter,if I dont use a mat and a zerostat, I have a ton of static. So in cold months, it's a leather mat for me.
VPI Prime, BenzMicro Glider, VPI SDS, Cinemag SUT
Audible Illusions Modulus 3A, Primaluna Prologue 5
REGA Apollo R, PS Audio Digital Link III DAC
KEF R300, pangea stands, SVS SB12 sub
elader

Postby Brf » Wed Jan 03, 2018 10:05 am

Try grounding your body before touching the tonearm. What you are experiencing is a static discharge from your body to the tonearm. Don't wear wool socks or slippers over carpet as this will create a lot of static. You can also spray static guard on the carpet in from of your turntable stand.
Brf
Site Admin

Postby Mat » Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:51 am

+1 again for Brf... what he wrote is spot on.
Mat Weisfeld
President
VPI Industries Inc.
Mat
Site Admin

Postby homey » Fri Jan 05, 2018 9:53 pm

A good habit I do is to touch my equipment stand before any stereo equipment and discharge any built up static due to twirling. Be prepared for a shock!!!
homey

Postby homey » Fri Jan 05, 2018 10:14 pm