Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Prime tone arm is sliding through the lead in groove, into 1st track. PROBLEM SOLVED
I've had the Prime for 6 years, but the arm developed a droop and VPI graciously replaced it. However, when I lower the new arm, it drifts inwards, towards the spindle. Often, it slides right accross the lead-in grooves and slams into the music, and I can not figure out why. I did not have this problem with the original arm. I am not inexperienced...I worked as a radio station DJ back when we played records, and I've owned an HW19 with an Origin Live modded Rega arm since 1984. I use pretty good setup tools, including a Mint protractor, Riverstone scale  and a Fozgometer.

I don't think its a skating problem. The stylus needs to be on a rotating record to skate. But I can see the arm drifting inwards, even when I lower it  into the space between the armrest and the platter. No amount of twisting the wire makes a difference. 

I don't think its the cueing mechanism, because I have the same problem when I lower the arm by hand. 

I don't think its an azimuth issue, because the arm is perfectly level, side to side, and the azimuth checks out perfectly with my Fozgometer. 

I am using the dual pivot, but I have the same problem when I am not using it.

Maybe its the cartridge. The Charisma MC-1 weighs 13.6 grams, and was recently re-tipped by SoundSmith with a boron cantilever. It worked fine on the original arm, but the re-tip is one variable I have introduced. 

Otherwise, the turntable sounds fine to my 67 year old years, but I'm thinking that it would sound better if I could solve this problem. Any suggestions will be much appreciated.

http://www.charismaaudio.com/wp-content/...arisma.pdf
2016 Prime with 2021 arm, dual pivot, HW-40 feet, Graham Slee Assension for Moving coil with Engima power supply, Sonic Euphioria autoformer preamp, NuPrime ST-10 power amp, Usher BE-718 speakers, PS Audio P-500 Power Plant